Chiefs of Ontario supports all First Nations in Ontario as they assert their sovereignty, jurisdiction, and their chosen expression of nationhood.

Guided by the Chiefs-in-Assembly, we uphold self-determination efforts of the Anishinaabek, Mushkegowuk, Onkwehonwe, and Lenape Peoples in protecting and exercising their inherent and Treaty rights. Keeping in mind the wisdom of our Elders, and the future for our youth, we continue to create the path forward in building our Nations as strong, healthy Peoples respectful of ourselves, each other, and all creation. The activities of the Chiefs of Ontario are mandated through and guided by:

  • Resolutions passed by the Chiefs in Assembly of the 133 First Nations in Ontario.
  • The Leadership Council (formerly known as the Political Confederacy) made up of the Grand Chiefs of Political Territorial Organizations (PTOs) and Independent First Nations.
  • The elected Regional Chief for the Chiefs of Ontario.

Our Mission

The main objective of the Chiefs of Ontario office is to facilitate the discussion, planning, implementation and evaluation of all local, regional and national matters affecting the First Nations people of Ontario. The intention of basing the central office in Toronto is to maintain a presence for First Nations in Ontario that is non-government and non-political in order to communicate with government officials on an urgency basis.


Media Releases